Adventures in Prague…

This is an amazing view of the waterfront!

This is my attempt to journal our epic trip to Prague, Czech Republic.  Emmett and I took this incredible opportunity to come here when Wes got offered the role Don Ottavio in Mozarts Don Giovanni at the Estates Theatre.  I always knew this city was special, but I always considered other European destinations priority.  Now, after only three days, I realize how unique and beautiful this place is.  Most travelers spend a few days here, but we are here for 5 weeks!  Pretty rad!  I do not consider my self a writer, but it was an idea from my friend Scott that a blog would be a great way to record our trip and share it with everyone we love!  So, for those of you who are curious about what we are up to… here we go!!!

This trip was so important to me that I bought our plane tickets back in August!  I did not want to wait till the last minute and find reasons (money or schedules) to not go.  I knew it would be so great for us!  Plus, it gets us on the track of traveling with Wes when he works out of town (very important).  In the month leading up to our departure, about 10 million things were going on and I am amazed that I was able to do it all.  My mother came with Emmett and me!  The last time she was in Europe was in the seventies, so it was due time!  She is with us for ten days.  Thank goodness for Nana…  she was a huge help on our trip over (which included three separate jets).   Emmett was awesome and so easy!

Emmett and Mom at SeaTac! Every time a plane went by, he loudly announced it “There’s one…RIGHT THERE!”

 

Wes left a week before us.  Which was great because we had no idea was our living situation was going to be.  The opera company provided him with an apartment and it turned out to be perfect for us.  We are in the Old Town part of Prague and literally one block from the river and entrance to the famous Charles Bridge.  Considering where we are, it is very quiet.  Walk two minutes, turn the corner and it’s a wall of tourists!   We have windows on each side of the apartment and right now I can hear the Ballet company rehearsing in the studio below across the alley.  I love that!

On our first real day here, Wes took us on a long walk and I realized how hard it can be walking in the heat when you are 6 months pregnant.  It can be frustrating for someone like me.  But in the last few days I have walked so much, that my body is adjusting and it’s easier now.  Here are just a few shots of our walks and there, of course, will be more to come.  This is just a start!

7 thoughts on “Adventures in Prague…

  1. I’m so excited you’re blogging about your trip! I’m very jealous! Enjoy your time there!!! Can’t wait to read more. Of course, we want to see lots more pics of E!!!!! Love & miss y’all!!!

  2. Thank you, thank you! Enjoyed every word. Can’t wait for another update. wonderful pics,but where’s the pic. of you? Have Nancy take one and include it in the next entry. Have fun and be safe.

  3. Was so excited to receive these from Nana. Looks like you all are having a lot of fun. Emmett is a young man now. So happy that Nancy could join you. Will be anxious
    to read more about your trip and see all the beautiful pictures. Enjoy every minute of the adventure.

  4. After talking to your Mom yesterday, I was very excited to read your blog and hear your first hand impressions of Prague. I love the photos and can’t wait to see more! Thank you for sharing your adventure with me.

Leave a Reply

